Saturday, April 30, 2005

The Write Choice!

Everytime, i sit to post a blog, I think "Hmmm.. so what is it going to be about this time?"
Today, i don't want to think, i just want to write.

It's been quite sometime now, that i have been going through some other bloggers work and I think "God, there are so many good writers in this world..?
Some write about how much they hate their flatmate, then some talk about their travel to work in India's most talked about public trains,then some have a passion about writing about the things they love- for eg. cricket.

But there are a thousand people who write. Write everyday. A busy schedule doesn't stop them. A bad weather doesn't stop them. A horrible day at work doesn't stop them, infact they would rather write about that.

They like to write about anything. Heartache, an amazing date, a happy moment, an occasion, how they met the person of their dreams, how they were sitting next to someone smelly, how they hate their boss, how much they wish they could win a million dollars in the state lottery.....think of a topic and that's it.. its there presented to you in a vast variety of words put together.

But... have you ever thought.. why do people write? What for? What does it bring them? Happiness? A place where they can vent out their feelings?A form of expressing their views?
There are times when I sit think about the most off beat things and this would definately be one of them.

Where did we ever get he idea of keeping a diary. So i did a little insight on this and would like to share this with all of you.

I believe that the inhabitants of ancient Mesopotamia, where Iraq now stands, are usually credited with the invention of writing. Clay tablets from slightly before 3,000 BC show a predecessor of the script called cuneiform, which records the affairs, and presumably the language, of the early Babylonians.

But that still doesn't really satisfy my question.

I started writing at the age of 8,when my aunt gave me a pink diary with this cartoon on it. It has this lock and key, so I thought that was like the ultimate possession i could have. I kept writing.. it brought me this inner pleasure, that whatever I thought and wanted to say, I could pen it down without having anybody to judge me.

I was 15 when I was betrayed by someone real close to me. That someone read my diary. I was numb when I found out. Didn't know where it was hurting exactly..it was like all over. Destroyed all my previous diaries then,but I still kept my first diary. I just came across it today and reading it makes me smile..:)

I only maintain this blog now.Don't find the need of keeping a diary. I have a human diary now. He was my best friend and then turned into my fiance and will soon be my husband. It's very easy to relate to him.So is it that everybody eventually finds someone that they can relate to, talk to them about anything without worrying about being judged. Does that person always have to be your life partner or your shrink? So why sometimes, are we so close to some people,yet we can't really tell them how we exactly feel? We still find the need of writing our feelings down?

Sometimes, we open our mouth to say something and a thought crosses our mind in a flash of a second and we shut up.

Lots of questions-Not many answers.......Think about it.

Saturday, April 23, 2005

Men(y) issues!

"10 Years! We were going out for 10 years"- she said in between her sobs.

And now it's all over.

And this was it.
I got a call last evening from an unknown number. On answering, I was greeted by my school friend whom i haven't seen in years. She was telling me about her life with her boyfriend, another classmate of mine whom she had been going around with for 10 years. They decided to get engaged and soon to get married, but didn't work out. They broke it off.

10 years- is a long time.
So why is it that for those 10 years, they were meant for each other and all of a sudden kapoot! all gone.
We spend our whole life, living and looking for that someone. In school, it's just that you have to have a boyfriend/girlfriend. How do we know that that guy/girl is meant for u. Is it because they have taken the same subjects, like to still listen to roxette, or just because he was prom king and she was was prom queen?
It's weird. It's the 3rd time this week, 3 of my friends have had relationship issues with their guys.
All of them surprisingly had the same problem- "He's changed" they said.

So is it always the guys who "change"?? and change how? Hey, i'm not looking down upon women-but it's not that they are right all the time. I am a woman, and sometimes you just need to think from the guys point of view. Don't raise your eyebrows..you really do.
So guess how those guys have changed- these are the few comments i got from my girlfriends:

- He doesn't call me as often as he would. ( which is like,he has reduced his calls from 100 times a day to 98 times a day)

- He doesn't say,"I love you" with the same feel like he would before! (wha..???? tell me if that makes sense to you)

-His work is now more important to him than me! (Guess what? He has to feed you now and is getting no allowance from his folks anymore!)

-He doesn't bring me flowers everyday anymore-only once a week now (Oh come on!)

I do understand if he's not talking to you straight or shows tendencies of getting bored or maybe just the possibility of having an affair with someone else, but all this... Nahhhh.. not a convincing excuse to break off with someone. Oh and mind you all these guys are trying to get back.

I might be wrong but this is my opinion. Things are not hunky dory all the time.
I am in a relationship for a year now and yes my boyfriend has changed in this one year too. In the beginning all that was annoying me too. But then, I had a chat with him. I really did, not like a girlfriend, like a friend and this is what i have concluded.

Just because he is busy with his work, doesn't call that often and doesn't bring you flowers everyday does not mean that he doesn't love you.
Sometimes, we just need a reality check. It's not the quantity, it's the quality of time you spend with each other.

Guys start having different priorities in life. They then realise that they have to start supporting families and if they are planning to get married, it's not about about taking your girl out for dinner in a fancy restaurant, dropping her home after a heavy make-out session and see you tomorrow types. They need time to get used to these facts and therefore the so-called changes.Work occupies them, they need a life too- sometimes even a break. Just because they have girlfriends that does not mean that they have to hang around with them even for the 5 mins they have to themselves.

Give them space and you get the respect, love and time you want. They themselves will give it you.
Hey, I'm not here to generalise, but I also agree that sometimes, we girls just let our imaginations run wild and jump to conclusions. Sometimes, we ourselves make things complicated for us in our relationships. I did that. I learnt and I worked on it. Things are much simpler for me now.

Well, what can I say..just twisting an old saying if I may..Men! CAN live with them...can't live without them!

Monday, April 11, 2005

Weekly crisis!

Is it Monday today? I don't believe this. It is.I thought it was Saturday yesterday and today which is a Monday should be a Sunday according to my presumption,which means I missed my Jazz Class yesterday, it was on Sunday and I've already scheduled my week as if yesterday was a Saturday.

Great! This is not the first time. This is not even funny. This is actually freaky. I'm forgetting days and dates.

Last week,I went for a late night movie thinking that I'm off the next day and I get a call early morning from none other than my doll of a boss(my feelings for her have been displayed in the earlier blog), asking me why am I late?
I thought she had lost it, when she told me that"Hello! today is a Thursday and you are off on Friday! I can't believe this. You forgot that today was a working day! Couldn't you come up with a better excuse. This is so definately a first. Anyways, get your ass down here asap and yea oh by the way, you'll be working late today."

HMPH!!!! So much for my weekend.

Right! Have to re-schedule my week. I need a holiday desperately..or maybe a shrink!!! :((

Friday, April 08, 2005

Pain in the Boss!

So what is with these bosses?
Do they like take a vow before signing their promotion letter. I think they so do. And I so know that the letter reads the following:

"I,whatever my name is, vow that now that i have had the opportunity to become the boss. I plan to switch on my "Bitch" mode and leave it on for the rest of my f***in life till i get atleast 3 out of 5 of my employess to commit suicide. I also promise that apart from pretending to work, I shall also sit and come up with different schemes of mental torture I could use on my staff. Push them so over the edge that they have nightmares about coming to work each morning.

At every second I shall peer over their shoulder and breathe down their neck so the chances of them having a heartattack at the age of 22 is possible. I shall ensure to call after every 15 minutes on their day off and then finally coerce them to come in to work in the second half of the day. Additionally, would reject their leave applications atleast 6 times before i decide to give the green signal as I would test the creativity of my staff as they would display in the many ways of begging.

Also, I would take care of their physical health by making them do all the menial jobs of making the tea/coffee and filing. The office boy is way too precious to perform chores like these.
To give myself that extra sadistic pleasure I would have to make sure that they never get more than a grade 3 in their yearly appraisal. Bonus is considered a taboo for my employess as now I shall take their share.

Last,but not the least. I pledge that after performing the above activities,this would surely make my fellow workers's life a living hell!!! And now i announce myself as "THE BOSS!"

Yup, I'm sure.. this is it!How? exactly... how?, dear reader, do you bloody deal with something like this.
And mind you, with this category, you simply can't argue. They have a knack.
Whatever it is, all I know is that i need to change my job....FAST!

Uh oh! That won't be too difficult, think she just read my blog-the promise abt breathing down the neck remember-think i'm going to be fired!

She calling me now...right, i need to change into my waitress uniform, wants me to run down and get her a sandwich.

Sigh! the work blues!! Help me somebody!