Wednesday, November 30, 2005

Tremors in UAE.

23/11/05- Conversation between me and my 15 year old brother

Bro: Hey guess what di..We are all going to die!!

Me: Now what is your problem in life?!

Bro: Don't you know?? Everybody is talking about it.. There will be an earthquake in Dubai on the 26th of November..and its going to be a terrible one..we all will die!!!

Me: Shut up! Don't talk rubbish.. Who told you.??

Bro: Some guy in School... See this year something or the other is happening all around the world..Dubai is the only place where no calamity has taken place.. so now it's Dubai's turn..!!

Me: Yea sure.. just because we didn't have a calamity that doesn't mean that we deserve one..Now shut up and let me read.

Bro: Okay fine.. Don't listen to me..Then don't come and cry to me if it happens..

Me: Yea okay Prateek.. why don't you go save the world till then!

After this conversatiom, my sister and I had a good laugh on how naive our brother can be and believe anything.

Guess who had the last laugh?

27/11/05- 3pm in my Office

We were all working and all of a sudden, we get a call from a colleague who works at the Deira HSBC Branch.

Apparently all the buildings around that area and at the Sheikh Zayed road were asked to evacuate as there were tremors felt.
I couldn't believe it. Half an hour later,everybody was asked to return and resume back to work.

Then news channels all around broke the news. There was an earthquake in Iran and the we felt the tremors here.

Later that evening, was at home alone watching TV when the cable suddenly went off and my couch started moving sideways. At first,it was really freaky and I turned to look around if there was anybody there and then the phone rings, It was my neighbour asking me to get down immediately as the tremors were on again.

I rushed downstairs finding the whole neighbourhood there.

We had all felt it. There were mixed feelings at that time. Some of them were laughing the whole thing off, some were just checking if all their family members were there, some were calling families and friends and reporting this so-called exciting moment.Some were just panicking and considering going back up and atleast taking their passports and maybe the gold they had bought for all these years.

I was just waiting there, thinking how we had just laughed at my brother's comments on this. Okay it wasn't as serious as he had predicted it to be but we never thought that we would ever feel the slightest of tremors!

My brother returned home that night and came in beaming with the "I told you so!!" look written all over his face.

Sigh! guess will have to start taking him a bit more seriously from now onwards.

Sunday, November 27, 2005

Week ENDS!

Bloody Hell..! What a start to my weekend, I left office all happy happy joy joy..thinking...Yaay, today is the weekend, and I shall go and have a good time with my girlfriends, especially since I spent all week staying depressed and snappy because of my bloody PMS!!!(I swear to God i could kill somebody during those days!!!)

So, I happily leave work, putting on the radio and singing along with the song on it..and driving at a normal speed of 60km/h ...and this stupid car in front of me just breaks.. like from no where, so i break too.. but obviously my car would take some time to stop at the right time..and i knew i was going to hit him by then.. but if I did, I would hit him head on and cause my car more damage so I took a right turn hoping that my car could've been saved.. but no...!!! My left bumper in the front hit his right bumper in the back of his car...

"Great!"..I thought..!Thats all I need..So this guy who's car I hit get's out and says "Now what?"
And I was just trying to get out and my stupid door wasn't opening.. It was jammed, because my bumper got hit real bad and pushed itself towards the inside, hence jamming my door...so I lower my window and tell the guy.."My door seems to be jammed..!!""..and that idiot tells me.."So...??"
I just gave him a look and struggled my way out from the passenger seat's door. I look at my car...damn..quite a bit of damage..his car...well..frankly,i didn't care...okay okay..a bump and the back light broken..but still.. my car was more damaged!

Then began the conversation:(NOTE:Pronounce the words "he"says just like the way they have been spelt!!!)

He:So,zoo you wantz thoo sign zee Inzurance paperz?

Me:What insurance papers?

He:Wellz, I zon't want to be rudez but can ve hurry ze up coz I havez an urgenté meeting

Me:Listen...whoever you are..?? Are you new here???

He: Wellz New?...oui..1 year zonly..I am from ze paris...originally indian..but borns and brought up in paris..so I'm french...

Me:Okay mr french...

He: ze no no...I am aiyaz..from francé

Me:Listen, whereever you are from, we have to call the cops in case of the slightest of the accident here....the cops will come see who's fault it is and accordingly give us the papers which we have to present to our insurance companies.Okay... !

He:But itz not my faultz..

Me:Let the cops come..

So the cops came an hour later!! And he was eating my head till then.. Can you guys believe his audacity..he tells me ,"I wish you would have found someone else to hit..coz i'm really late for this meeting..!!"

Wanted to tell him, "You SHMUCK! Why would I want to hit anybody in the first place and damage my precious car over some loser like you.." But I just limited it to a cold stare.. and chose to ignore him...

Right then..spent my weekend at home as I was without a car. To add to my misery they have this stupid new rule that if the person hits the car in front of him/her they will have to pay a fine of AED200 (USD54, INR 2440,GBP33)..
So i have to pay a fine for no bloody fault of mine..hey that rhymes.. :) (okay sorry, I'm trying to find some humour in this whole incident)

PS: I don't know how far is this true..but on the day of my accident..my right eye had been twiching since morning (which means something bad is going to happen)..I chose to ignore it and belive these things don't make sense..but after the accident took place, my eye stopped twiching and I can't help but think about it..

Sigh!Some happening weekend!

Monday, November 21, 2005

Authors On The Signing Spree!

Right then....I couldn't get Paulo Coelho's autograph because there were 700 people at the Virgin Mega Store and i was no. 699....Hmmm..I got delayed because of work!!!

Anyways..we waited and waited and waited..and then the security guy said..okay he's done, he ain't signing any more books..he's already signed 600...you guys can go now.
(WTF*@*#*!#&$*%)*)*$)@(*#$)

This took place at the Virgin Mega Store in Mercato ...not in City Centre,like I mentioned in my previous post (Sorry guys..my bad!)..so I was quite disappointed and really wished I could get a few of his books signed..they would make excellent Christmas gifts...Now i just have to gift my friends the book without his sign...Maybe I could forge his.. :) just kidding.

But, he really looks nice for an old man. He was affable (from what I could see..). He was patient with each and every one of his fans. Supported a happy smile when asked to pose for a photograph. Well, atleast I got to see him and then when I come to work this morning,I get to know that he was there at the Ibn Battuta Mall yesterday at McGrudy's signing books there as well..so there I missed him again! Sigh!

But then...another colleague just told me (and I hope that this is true) ..that....DAN BROWN..author of the famous "Da Vinci's Code" is coming down next month for a signing spree too!!!!!!! This one I'm not going to miss.. I'll camp at the venue the previous night if I have to, but I am not missing this one for sure!!!!

However, I'd definately like to mention that I was quite happy to see the turnout at the place. It felt nice to know that there are so many people in Dubai who like to read. I didn't know there were so many avid readers frankly...Nice to know that for sure.

Thursday, November 17, 2005

How true is this??

Have been working for 5 years now in the same organisation... and have learnt alot about different kinds of attitudes people have

I have encountered different kinds of people here and have learnt that these attitudes are common in most offices .Age no bar,personality no bar, religion no bar...it's just how they are. Try identifying these different traits which are usually available in your office

Category 1 : The Irritating Pot!
This character has to comment on everything you do. Has least interest in his/her business and talks his mind at anytime/anywhere. Usually makes a fool of him/her-self and is very proud to do so. One of those people who have to stop by your desk everytime they pass it ,they have to comment on your hair, how you do things, try and make fun of you and peer over your shoulder and ask you if you're really working or just pretending so loudly so that your whole office can hear him/her. These are those kind of people who you just bear because you know nothing can affect them at all and make a face each time when they leave you finally..Lame jokes! That's what they are all about and damn irritating!

Category 2 : The Maniacs
These type of people take the word "work" way too seriously.. People in this category prefer not to take lunch breaks,smoke breaks ,love coming to work even at 3 in the morning, love staying back late. Their aim is to get that fat heavy bonus at the end of each year and they don't mind killing themselves for that. They don't mind coming on holidays, cancelling their annual leave and oh sometimes I've even seen them gulping down a hot cup of tea like in 2 minutes so that they go back to their "work". They don't like attending annual parties or know anything about the latest movies but they do remember what mail was sent to whom regarding what even 4 years ago when they first joined. They are like robots. They are great at doing what they have been asked to for years .. But give them something to solve like a maybe a paper jam in a printer...and they will just look at you blankly.

Category 3 : The Fox -better known as the Asshole
There are loads of these spread out everywhere. They are usually found hovering near those on higher positions. They usually bring the boss food, take them out for drink and pretend to work very hard on the front.. They are the ones who get away with murder with the boss. They are the ones who get promotions on like a monthly basis. They are usually not skilled for anything but are born with the gift of gab! As long as they are at the boss's feet,they also feel that they have a license to bully others... in short....Assholes!

Category 4: Children of lesser Gods.
This category has the majority population. The people in this group are the ones who just come work and go home, they are least bothered in what the other person is doing and usually form a group with the same kind of crowd and work at the boss's pace. They are usually pressurised by their boss,asked to stay late, given menial jobs like filing or asked to do the boss's personal work like book his air tickets. They usually stay on the same grade for eternity and don't even have the guts to ask their boss for small favours.. like a half day. They are usually forgotton on the important events and like a social outcast in group talks. And as if their life wasn't bad enough they usually have a beast of a boss!


Well, Thats how it is.. guess this sums it up...Let me know if I missed out on any in particular.

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Guess who's coming to town??!!

PAULO COELHO!

Those who don't know who he is, He is my favorite author! The guy who wrote 'AlChemist!' and 'Eleven Minutes'. Two of the most finest books that I've read. My favorite out of these two is the latter one..

The way he has described the life of a prostitute and her thoughts and feelings in 'Eleven Minutes' is simply amazing. He sure has a way with his words and knows how to get the reader hooked on.

He will be signing his books at the Virgin Mega Store in City Centre this Wednesday.

Those who read his work and are residing here should surely not miss this opportunity.

Sunday, November 13, 2005

I've Been Tagged!!

Right then, San has tagged me...so here goes,

Seven things that I plan to do:

1. Lose weight
2. Re-do my wardrobe
3. Save a little money...like...atleast a little..
4. Stop smoking
5. Plan my trousseau
6. Control my temper
7. Give more time for my writing.


Seven things that I can do:

1. Dance
2. Sing
3. Be really organised/clean
4. Be really rude when I want to be
5. Cook
6. Stay at home forever
7. Read & Write all day long


Seven things that I can't do:

1. Run alot
2. Stand unhygenic and untidy/messy people
3. Stand people who talk stupid...I just can't ..they just really piss me off!
4. Behave all goody goody ,sweet sweet..the bitch inside me can't take that! :)
5. Sit in one place
6. Do without my daily prayers
7. Stop thinking..even for the smallest things..I think forever!


Seven things I say most often:

1. Shite!
2. Bloody
3. Shut up
4. Whatever
5. Right then....
6. Haanji ( in hindi/punjabi for "Yes")
7. Love you


Seven people I want to tag:

1. Analogchaoz
2. Buddha
3. Shayon
4. Pixel
5. Arun
6. Pseudofreud
7. Arunima

Friday, November 11, 2005

And So the Week Ends!

I have had a blast after such a long time!

Was on leave from the 3rd of November till yesterday and have had a great time.
My fiance had come down to Dubai just to spend my birthday with me(sweetheart that he is) and stayed on for a week. I changed my profession from a banker to a tour guide for the past 7 days.

Dined at most of the best restaurants,went to one of the other emirates of UAE called Fujeirah for the weekend,went Dune bashing in the deserts,camped,shopped, laughed, partied...all in all had a good time.

My best time was spent at the Buddha Bar. No, I didn't have to go to Paris for that..It's now open in Dubai!!! Yup, and it's one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. The whole ambience is deep red and dark and with the famous buddha bar tunes playing in the background. We relished on some of the best cuisines and were awed by the no. of buddha statues there were. What I loved most was the 30 ft Buddha statue sitting right there in the middle of the hall.
Another good place to go and dine at is the Marina Walk. Sitting outside by the bay with the cool breeze hitting you (By the way, the weather has just turned wonderful..) and smoking on sheesha with the dancing fountains just adds to the atmosphere!

Have been eating like a pig for the past few days..really need to start doing something about my diet...if not anything then maybe just start on it..

Oh well, fiance left last night and back to the work blues..SIGH!

Btw, pixel, any information on when are the next public holidays coming up..?? :)

Tuesday, November 01, 2005

HAPPY DIWALI!

A festive of LightS!

A festive of Love!

A festive of Warmth!

A festive of Happiness!

A festive of Friends & Family!

A festive of Shopping!

A festive of Gifts!

A festive of Crackers!

A festive of Parties!

A festive of Sweets!

A festive of Fun!

A festive of Laughter!

A festive for EVERYONE!


HAPPY DIWALI TO EVERYBODY & A PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR! MAY THIS DIWALI BRING YOU ALL LOADS OF HAPPINESS AND LOVE FOR THE WHOLE YEAR ROUND!