Wednesday, July 27, 2005

Hit Me Baby One More Time!

"Di, has it hit you that you're getting engaged?" asked my cute little sister, "I mean how do you feel?"

And that's when I thought... Oh My God! I'm getting engaged..it's like filling up an application form for a long term commitment course. Duration of the course=FOREVER! I just did a whole rewind in my life and thought of all the possible things I could..

The first time I went to school. My Kindergarden days.. where they would take us swimming every Sunday and put us on that huge slide which would land in the 6ft deep pool...I remember how I assaulted a girl because she pushed me down that slide when I was not ready and my hairband landed on the floor of the pool..obviously I was too tiny and scared of performing underwater stunts to collect my band so with the help of my arm floats managed to climb out of that pool ,ran to the girl and pulled her hair and pushed her...Yup, I was punished that day, they didn't allow me to swim for the rest of the day and even confiscated my hairband till I apologised..:) I so clearly remember when my swimming instructor called me to confront my victim and asked me, "What should you say to her?" and I brimming with attitude replied,"I hate you!" :D

My High School days..always in trouble for all the wrong reasons..well what I can say..I was one of those right people at the wrong time in the wrong situation. Most of my detentions were courtesy my classmates. I really don't remember scheming those mass bunking sessions, the "let's not study for an assessment today and we shall all tell her to postpone it" moments! Those never happened,by the way. Remember, Ogling at those "New kid on the Block" posters in Smash Hits. The way this one classmate of ours found a "dirty" book and has folded all the pages from the bottom where the steamy scenes were mentioned and how it was circulated in class..only when it was my time to read it, my dad caught me..and guess what.. I didnt even begin reading that stupid book. The first time when I received a call from a guy in my class at home...oh my god...my heart was beating as if Sivamani was performing live!

My first day in University..I was shit nervous, when I entered the bus, I didn't look left or right and sat at the first vacant seat I saw, only to know that half the bus was filled with my classmates from school. But university was something I never really enjoyed the way I was supposed to as I started working, so it was work in the morning and uni in the evening till 10 in the night...

And then my relationships with various people I encountered, the good, the bad, the ugly and the ugliest!
Good are people I can count on my fingers and the category "ugliest" has many contenders!
And of all the ordeals and the happy moments in my life, here comes a turning point..Marraige.

It's hitting me slowly, but I guess it'll hit me big time on the D-Day! Till then, I'm going with the flow!
It's a different feeling people...it sure is!

Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Lord of the Ring!

Engagement shopping is quite tiring! Yes, I'm saying that.. I could never think shopping was tiring, but trust me when it comes to shopping for your loved ones.. Gosh! It's so bloody stressful.

Coming from a ethnic Hindu background, have to abide by all the rules of a normal engagement function.
Lots of gifts exchanged. Most( or rather all..) of the gifts are for your to-be in-laws and you want to make sure that you buy the best of things that should be to their liking.

I remember, when i first gifted my to-be mom-n-law a beautiful green(not like an ugly green, just a normal cool cucumber green) dress piece, I went hunting for it in top of the best shops, getting the best quality and finally when I gifted it to her, she very politely said..."it's nice, but I never wear green..I hate that color!"...
AAAAhhh! I wanted to kill myself then...Why? Just Why couldn't I have asked her her favorite color before doing that!
So from then on...Detective Shweta was on the prowl..
I investigated all the likes and dislikes of most of his family members and therefore shopping for the engagement didn't involve alot of guess work.

Finally, all the gifts were taken, wrapped and ready to be exchanged..now just a prayer that they should like it...But somehow, I felt..something was missing..like something really important...

"Mom, Do you have your checklist..? Is everything done?" I asked slightly worried..
"Yaaa...everything is done..now all we have to get is his RING!"..my calm mother replied.

RING!! How could I have forgotton the ring??!!!! I mean,exactly what would I be doing in my engagement without HIS RING!!!??
Anyways, went ring hunting... but just before that, asked him for his preferences..I mean, I have never gifted a ring to anybody...forget guy or girl! Nobody! I'm not a jewellery person,so never really stressed myself and here I had to buy a perfecto ring so that my oh-so-ever-fussy to-be fiance would wear it all his life!

I have never visited so many jewellery showrooms in my 23 years of life as many I have visited in 3 days!
Couldn't find any nice one and when I asked my boyfriend to help, he said.."I leave it to you..!"
(so much for helping me out)

After visiting, I think 13 shops...(yea! 13!!!!) I finally went into this last one..Now I was tired and I was even willing to buy him a ladies ring if I didn't find one now.. and there it was right in the middle of all those gordy and chunky designs.. like the kinds most of my sindhi uncles fill their hands with..a plain simple platinum ring with a small princess cut diamond on it!
That's it! I fell in love with it.. I already imagined it on his finger..(and frankly..I don't think I had the energy to go looking for anything better than that...b'coz it was perfect!!!)

So people! I finally bought the ring! Oh My God..! It's hitting me now..I'm gonna get engaged..and then married..!

I never imagined that this feeling could be so beautiful! It really is out of this world...especially when you know that you are now going to spend your life with someone you have always wanted to be with...someone you love!

Sigh! (I think I'm gonna cry now!!).............................................
On second thoughts...I don't think so :)

Hope everyone experiences this feeling! Good Luck to you all in finding that special person!

Thursday, July 14, 2005

28 Days To Go!!!!

Yipeee! I have 28 days to go before I start my annual leave and fly to Amchi Mumbai!

Things I'm excited about:

1. Am Gonna Meet My Boyfriend After 1 whole year!
2. Getting engaged on the 21st of August!
3. Gonna gorge on roadside khaana!
4. Meet my best friend who left Dubai 7 months ago!
5. Gonna be away from work!!
6. Gonna be away from my Boss!! (Finally)
7. Shop! Shop! Shop! .....and oh yea.... SHOP!

Things I need to do before I go:

1. Shop
2. Lose weight
3. Shop
4. Do something about my hair
5. Shop
6. Make a list of invitees
7. Shop
8. Get my lehenga choli ready
9. Shop
10. Lose more weight!!!


There! Now that all that has been decided.. there is only one thing left to do...implement on the 'things to do list!'

Gosh! I can't wait to go! I love B'bay!!!