Thursday, February 24, 2005

Yippeeee!!

So, I finally got my bonus for this year....and boy am i excited.. maybe because this is my first ever bonus. Hmmm.... what shall i do...?

Let's see now.... get a manicure... no wait... a spa treatment...wait, there's better...an air ticket and go and see my boyfriend..... Aha!!!! I know...a Liposuction!! :D

So i have this great plan on how to blow my moolah after 1 whole year's hard work (that's my opinion.. my boss thinks otherwise...) and call up my boyfriend in India to tell him on how excited i am to get my very first bonus!!!!

Somehow, you'll never get a hyperactive expression ..."Okay.. that's nice." was all i got in response.

I don't get it....? Why are men so expressionless..? Don't they ever feel happy, don't they do a little dance when they are excited..? Why don't they squeal when they meet an old friend...? Hey, i'm not here to generalise, but my guy is so expressionless... i mean he has the same tone for everything...Don't believe me?.. let me display some of the emotions depicted by him..

"Hey love, I got a promotion..!!!!!"............RESPONSE- "okay...that's nice."
"Hey, You know,I just won one of the latest mercedes benz in the Dubai Duty Free draw"
RESPONSE= "okay...that's nice."
"I can't come out tonight.. my dog passed away:(" ..RESPONSE="okay...that's......okay."

I don't know whether its actually true but the whole saying "Opposites attract" now falls into place with my relationship. I, on the other hand am the super excited, hyper active kid from hell!!!!!!
I have a expression for everything...!!! name it.. i have it!!!

However, I love this about him...never know what to expect...This is what totally attracts me about him.. His mysteriousness on every single thing...God I love him so much!

BUT HEY..!!! I GOT MY BONUS....SO IT'S PARTYYYYYYYYYY TIMMMMEEEEEEEEE!
Yippeeeeeeee!!!!
Yahooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!
Haaaaayyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..

Okay bye.

Monday, February 21, 2005

The In- Laws!

Meeting new people is one thing and meeting the in-laws is altogether a different ballgame! I mean working for a multi-national organisation, in a department where you only get to meet new people,you eventually end up becoming confident and quite affable and then you think,"It ain't so bad....I can finally just walk into a room full of new people and not feel out of place..."

Yeah right!!! So my fiance's uncle was visiting from B'bay and i have never met him. My cell just rings last afternoon and a voice speaks..."Hey... this is s's uncle....i'm in town.. so why don't you come along with your folks and meet up for dinner...! Okay ...?! so see you 20:30! byeee".
click.

Coming from an indian family, it's very usual to have parents who get hyper at the slightest of information. All i had to do was.. call my folks and said.." listen guys..his uncle is in town..! so stay ready by 19:45."
Mum jumped," Oh my god..! what do i wear..? no wait... what are you wearing..? Listen young lady! you better wear our traditional attire, please do away with your sleazy jeans and tank tops for tonight!!please please... oh yes.. please go to the salon... get your hair set. it looks like a nest!, wear your makeup really subtle... shouldn't be too loud...behave yourself there...try being soft-spoken... book the best retaurant in town....blah blah blah blah blah..........."

Oof! God that was one hellava conversation. Anyways, obviously turning a deaf ear to my mom,(which she is so used to by now), I still supported my blue jeans and a black pullover...i mean.. i don't understand, that's who i am... don't know how marraige will change the way i dress???

So the dinner began....so did conversations, you could make-out that he was evaluating me on the way i spoke, held my spoon, my body language....everything was under scrutinization. Everytime, i have to meet one of his family members,i'm dead nervous. Wishing i could just disappear from that scene... yesterday was not that bad, infact... it was amazing!

His uncle is a sweetheart. Not once did he make me feel that i was new to his family. He immediately opened up to me about his life in the UK and how he went there and was staying there for over 40 years now.

To cut a long story short, if i have in-laws like him coming ahead, think i would start thanking my stars and am blessed to have .... he simply made things comfortable for me.

Thankyou GOD!

Tuesday, February 15, 2005

Black........

Can't see, can't hear, can't talk... that's 3 senses already gone....How does it feel, to be in a world of helplessness, a world of sorrow... a world that is....Black?

So is the story of this girl Michelle Mcnally, a character played by Rani Mukherji in this beautiful movie by Sanjay Leela Bhansali... the man indeed does it again!

When the movie begins, u sense an aura of depression, you already know that this is not one of those song and dance routine movies, where the actress is getting wet in the rain with just her white sari....well, nowadays, even that white saree is missing in action...

This movie has changed my attitude towards life...("overreacting", u say? no not at all...!).
I cried on most of the scenes. The way Amitabh Bachhan, Rani Mukherji have potrayed their roles is absolutely a work of a genius. Not once during the movie, does one feel that it's dragging or just going over your head. You stay glued to your seat waiting for that miracle happen and when it finally does, in Michelle Mcnally's own small way, you just can't help but cry.It's as if, you have acheived something from her success.

Black has definately opened my eyes to whole new different world, a world that i knew existed but never bothered knowing much about it.

It's definately on my top favorite movies list from now!!